NOW IS GOOD
NOW IS GOOD
release regenerate
0:00
-6:20

release regenerate

hello hello,

in the past couple months I’ve been adjusting to a new schedule, where I am largely in control of my time. this is a first for me, I’ve always had anywhere from one to three in-person, low paying jobs at one time (not including creative pursuits or familial responsibilities). I lived hour to hour, doing whatever I could when I could do it.

being responsible for my own work schedule has been incredibly exciting, but I’m still learning to create a point when my work ends and the rest of my life begins. I know this is common no matter what you do. for me, the two worlds will always overlap, but I’m figuring out how much overlap is okay for my wellbeing.

it’s a process! and we are all living through process all the time.

as I build more of a routine for myself, I’m really paying attention to the cycle of a week. in this covid era, I know many of us have lost our rhythm and our grasp on time. a few months ago the first words I’d say out loud in the morning were today is Friday. it’s Friday all day. it was so absurd it was helpful.

this meditation prompt examines the importance of cycles, as they foster release that is so crucial for new growth.

that being said,
happy Friday! see you on Sunday with Moments for Now.
James

exhibit a

welcome to the weekend. 

no matter what has taken place this week, big or small, let’s use this time to take stock. 

within our lives, there are clearly defined cycles. everything from a breath cycle to a week’s cycle can be celebrated and used to begin anew. 

in doing so, we recognize what we can release. 

this might be physical, interpersonal or emotional.
it might be as simple as finally emptying out the wastebasket. 
perhaps a set  of old fears that don’t align with your current situation. 

letting go is a natural process, one that can be seen all around us. 

healthy plants will drop their oldest leaves, not because of illness, but to make room for new leaves that will collect more sun. 

whether we’re aware of it or not, this process happens within us all the time, at a cellular level. 

our skin generates new cells every two weeks. we are constantly being given a new shield from the external world. 

 there is a tiny section of the brain that acts as the gateway to the place where our past lives. it is responsible for learning and storing new memories, without it, we would be unable to move forward. this little hub regenerates over 1,000 new neurons a day. 

like everything else, those neurons have a lifespan. 

these are the spaces of ourselves that are most responsible for holding the person we are.

we inherently know how to let go and renew. our body knows how to do this with ease, it is key to our survival. 

yes, sometimes we may have to let go of something before we feel ready. 

here, grief is a necessary part of release. we must process the sadness, allow the emotions to be without pushing their cycle. when we push, they push back and the cycle begins all over again. 

but it’s important to recognize that letting go isn’t always synonymous with loss.

when we can do so with presence, it is an opportunity for new life 

for life that is in line with your spirit 
for life that is fuel and fire 
for life that fills you and awakens you 

identify what provides for you. give those gifts a moment of gratitude.

then, identify what is no longer serving you. see how you can change your framing, your interactions and your allotment of energy. 

look at what you’re gaining when you choose to let go. if that is still a mystery, try to trust the process that has been happening for millennia in many different forms. 

just as the cells are constantly renewing, this process is ongoing. we will always have something to release, and something new to allow in. 

be gentle with yourself, 

as you are the home, you’re the new energy and you are the table where it takes its seat.

0 Comments
NOW IS GOOD
NOW IS GOOD
meditation prompts
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
James Francis